Encinitas CA— The Encinitas Historical Society will hold a free walking tour of Historic Encinitas on Saturday, April 15. The tour, which is led by an Encinitas Historical Society volunteer, begins at 10:00 a.m. in the classroom of the 1883 Schoolhouse, located 390 West F Street.
The tour provides participants with interesting facts about Encinitas’ history, including how Encinitas came to be known as the “Flower Capital.” Attendees will also learn why early settlers came to town in the 1880s and hear interesting anecdotes about the early owners of many historic buildings. They will learn about Encinitas’ first “recycler,” Miles Kellogg, who built many buildings in the 1920s including the iconic boathouses—the most photographed buildings in Encinitas.
The tour finishes around noon. For more information about the walking tour, call the Encinitas Historical Society President Carolyn Cope at (760) 753-4834.