Home / Sports / Scholastic Surf Series San Diego High School Division Results

Scholastic Surf Series San Diego High School Division Results

San Diego CA— The Scholastic Surf Series a division of the Western Surfing Association completed the first event for San Diego High School Division 5 surfers this past Sunday, November 2, 2014 at San Fernando Place in Mission Beach.

In very competitive 4 to 6 foot surf each division displayed their talents and it definitely showed what they have been doing over the summer months – surfing. Alex Heyman from La Jolla Country Day took the win in Mens Shortboard and Ryan Irving from Francis Parker took the win in Mens Longboard but Classical Academy took the honors in three of the five finals – Avalon Johnson 1st Women’s Shortboard, Sidney Johnson, 1st Women’s Longboard and Jacob Champlin 1st Coed Bodyboard. Congratulations to all of the teams.

Thank you to all of our sponsors for their support: Body Glove Wetsuits, Ecowater, Hoven, Oceanside Longboard Surfing Club, Sima Corp., Sticky Bumps, SuperBrand, Surface Sun Systems, Standard Graphics, Wave House and the WSA. For more info about the SSS, please contact Sue Lister, Admin Director, at 760-518-2727 / info@surfsss.org, or Carolyn Krammer, Competition Director, 760-439-0863 or email carolnoceanside@cs.com. You can also check our website at www.surfsss.org for a current schedule of all SSS events in California.

Team Results Division 5

St. Augustine/OLP 49 def High Tech 39
La Jolla Country Day 53 def Serra 33
Granite Hills 52 def Waldorf San Diego 33
Eastlake 44 def Steele Canyon 42
Rancho Bernardo 50.5 def Sage Creek 33.5
Francis Parker 43 def Mission Hills 36
Classical Academy 53 def Fallbrook 27
Army Navy Academy Bye Win

Individual Results

Mens Shortboard
1. Alex Heyman, La Jolla Country Day
2. Noah Jackson, High Tech
3. Matt Mindel, La Jolla Country Day
4. Nathan Niehaus, Eastlake
5. Cole Hurst, High Tech
6. Tristan Romero, Granite Hills

Mens Longboard
1. Ryan Irving, Francis Parker
2. Riley Brandelius, Granite Hills
3. Trent Smith, Waldorf SD
4. J T Dunn, Serra
5. Alex Wells, Granite Hills
6. Nick Richardson, Rancho Bernardo

Womens Shortboard
1. Avalon Johnson, Classical Academy
2. Sidney Johnson, Classical Academy
3. Mikayla Williamson, Granite Hills
4. Avery Johnson, Sage Creek
5. Coral McDuffee, Army Navy Academy
6. Kristen Rosier, Steele Canyon

Womens Longboard
1. Sidney Johnson, Classical Academy
2. Mikayla Williamson, Granite Hills
3. Katherine Fandy, Sage Creek
4. Jennifer Irving, Francis Parker
5. Ella Frazee, Waldorf SD
6. Olivia Dykeman, Rancho Bernardo

1. Jacob Champlin, Classical Academy
2. Ian Phelps, Sage Creek
3. Tyler Dimock, Granite Hills
4. J T Dunn, Serra
5. Michael Savides, La Jolla Country Day
6. Sarah Leach, Eastlake

%d bloggers like this: