Home / Arts & Entertainment / The Cannon Art Gallery “2014 Juried Biennial Exhibition” Opens Dec. 14

The Cannon Art Gallery “2014 Juried Biennial Exhibition” Opens Dec. 14

Carlsbad CA— The City of Carlsbad’s William D. Cannon Art Gallery will present 66 works of art in its upcoming and highly anticipated “2014 Juried Biennial Exhibition” – the eleventh juried exhibition to be held since the gallery opened in 1999. Featuring works in all media by artists who live, work or maintain a studio in San Diego County, the 2014 Biennial will open on Dec. 14, and continue on display through Feb. 7, 2015, at the William D. Cannon Art Gallery in the Carlsbad City Library complex, located 1775 Dove Lane. A free reception celebrating the opening of the new exhibit is scheduled for Saturday, Dec. 13 from 5 to 8 p.m.

More than 60 works, created by 34 artists, were selected from 1,200 images submitted by 231 artists –illustrating the enthusiasm that regional artists have for this biennial exhibition and the rigorous competition they face to be included. Thirteen of the selected artists are North County residents, 16 have had works selected for previous exhibitions at the gallery and an additional 18 are being shown there for the first time.

Jurors represent Southern California’s most prestigious art institutions. The 2014 jurors are Professor Tina Yapelli, director of the University Art Gallery at San Diego State University, and John D. Spiak, director/chief curator of California State University, Fullerton’s Grand Central Art Center in Santa Ana.

Yapelli has originated more than 60 exhibitions as the director of the University Art Gallery at San Diego State since 1985, including contemporary art by regional, national and international artists. An advocate for public art, Yapelli has served on numerous public art selection committees including the City of San Diego’s Commission for Arts San Diego from January 2008 to December 2010.

Prior to his position at Grand Central Art Center, Spiak was curator at the Arizona State University Art Museum, curating the residency series Social Studies. For 15 years he was also director of the annual Short Film and Video Festival. Spiak has curated more than 100 solo and group exhibitions and currently serves on the editorial board for the journal Museum and Social Issues and is co-founder of Santa Ana Sites.

While each Juried Biennial has its own emphasis, due to the change of jurors from exhibition to exhibition, what remains constant is the chance for gallery attendees to see what is taking place San Diego County’s visual arts community. From young, emerging artists to veterans of gallery and museum exhibitions, and with works in painting, lithography, photography, ceramic, metal, wood mixed media and fiber, this exhibition is a snapshot of art in San Diego County today.

Operated by the City of Carlsbad’s Cultural Arts Office, the Cannon Art Gallery is a focal point for arts and culture in San Diego’s North County, offering a broad range of exhibitions, school and family programs, gallery tours and lectures. The gallery is open to the public Tuesday through Saturday from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from 1 to 5 p.m. Admission is free. For information on gallery programs, contact the William D. Cannon Gallery at 760-602-2021 or visit www.carlsbadca.gov/arts.

List of artists with their home cities

  • Dan Adams (San Diego)
  • Erin Dace Behling (San Diego)
  • Patrick Blocher (Oceanside)
  • Mary Bukhman (San Diego)
  • Benjamin Cabral (San Diego)
  • Brian S. Canfield (San Marcos)
  • Joyce Corum (La Mesa)
  • Bronle Crosby (San Diego)
  • Annette Cyr (San Diego)
  • Maria De Castro (Fallbrook)
  • Irene de Watteville (Solana Beach)
  • Dick Ditore (San Diego)
  • Kristina Bell DiTullo (Encinitas)
  • Rachel Edwards (Encinitas)
  • Don Fike (Vista)
  • Kaori Fukuyama (San Diego)
  • Gilberto Guzman (San Diego)
  • David Hewitt (La Jolla)
  • Jacob Lenc (Carlsbad)
  • Stacy Mann (San Diego)
  • Brad Maxey (San Diego)
  • Michelle Montjoy (Oceanside)
  • Candace X. Moore (San Diego)
  • Leslie Nemour (San Diego)
  • Rebecca Payne (Oceanside)
  • Ana Phelps (Carlsbad)
  • Matt Picon (San Diego)
  • Constance Rawlins (San Diego)
  • Vincent Robles (San Diego)
  • Gail Schneider (San Diego)
  • Aren Skalman (San Diego)
  • Fritzie Urquhart (Carlsbad)
  • Peggy Wiedemann (San Diego)
  • Zigaloe (Encinitas)
%d bloggers like this: