Home / Community / Old Mission San Luis Rey Historic Foundation’s Scholars for Tomorrow Awards

Old Mission San Luis Rey Historic Foundation’s Scholars for Tomorrow Awards

Oceanside CA— The Old Mission San Luis Rey Historic Foundation presented their ‘Scholars for Tomorrow’ Awards to local fourth grade students for their Missions of California Essay and Model projects. The Old Mission San Luis Rey Historic Foundation provides educational programs that promote the greater understanding of the California Mission system and the role individual missions play in the history of California and the local community.

“I’ve been doing this a long time and each year, the projects just keep getting better,” said Joe Bear, President of the MSLR Foundation. The purpose of the contest is to encourage students to research a Mission of their choice while gaining a deeper understanding of the importance the California Mission system and California Indians have played in our states history.

The sponsors for the event were; the Oceanside Rotary Club, San Luis Rey Rotary Club, Oceanside Unified School District and MyLifeWerks Insurance.

Topics for the essays included any California Mission or California Indian Band or Tribe. Student overall winners in the Essay Contest received $100 grand prize for the first place winner with 2nd and 3rd place prizes receiving $75 and $50 respectively.

The Mission models were judged on their creativity, originality and authenticity with the winners receiving $100 for first place overall, $75 for second, $50 to the third and $25 for fourth.

A sample of the Mission models on display at the event

Overall Winners

Model Contest
  • 1st Place, Adile Oceaguera, San Luis Rey Elementary
  • 2nd Place, Taevin Lane, Palmquist Elementary
  • 3rd Place, Natalie Morelos, Foussat Elementary
Essay Contest
  • 1st Place, Ambrielle Anton, Palmquist Elementary
  • 2nd Place, Kiera Donnelly, Ivey Ranch
  • 3rd Place, Ivy Pascarella, Palmquist

Students Winners from Individual Schools

Essay Contest
  • Foussat Elementary: Elizabeth McMillin
  • Garrison Elementary: Valeria Guzman, David Luis
  • Ivey Ranch Elementary: Kiera Donnelly, Hana Wilhovsky
  • Libby Elementary: Griselda Lopez, Angel Hernandez
  • McAuliffe Elementary: Kyle Hansen, Eva Zapata
  • Palmquist Elementary: Ambrielle Anton, Ivy Pascarella
  • San Luis Rey Elementary: Ricky Salazar, Omar Salazar
  • South Oceanside Elementary: Avery Rockdale, Isaiah Inzunza
  • Mission Elementary: Jose Hernandez, Alejandra Gomez
  • Reynolds Elementary: David Vo, Keahi Ellis
Model Contest
  • Foussat Elementary: Raquel Siman, Natalie Morelos
  • Garrison Elementary: Fabian Cuellar
  • Ivey Ranch Elementary: Karis Ho, Victoria Atchison, Andruw Alston, Ryan Spriggs, Roxy Grandos
  • Libby Elementary: Nancy Moreno
  • McAuliffe Elementary: Sydney Terrell
  • Palmquist Elementary: Ambrielle Anton, Dustin Zadnarias, Taevin Lane
  • San Luis Rey Elementary: Adile Oceguera
  • South Oceanside Elementary: Guadalupe Flores, Garrett White
  • Mission Elementary: Ashley Banos