Home / Community / Commentary / Letters to the Editor / Thank You to the Community for Making 6th Annual Hiyas Awards Gala a Huge Success

Thank You to the Community for Making 6th Annual Hiyas Awards Gala a Huge Success

Now it can be told, the 6th Hiyas Awards was a huge success and set a record in FACO history with the highest number of awardees, unparallelled glamour, great food and fantastic entertainment. On behalf of the FACO, I would like to thank all the people behind the scenes for the huge success of the Hiyas.

Belle Limoge, Jerry Bennet, managing director of ABS-CBN Foundation and FACO President, Rein Hanson

Firstly, from all the 33 honorees who supported, contributed and came from far and near to join in the most prestigious Hiyas Awards ever, with the deepest appreciation we give our Greatest thanks to namely;

Agnes Higley, Alice Vitug, Bernadette Allessandri, Atty Grace Tenorio, Detective James Ferrer and the Oceanside Firefighters Association (OFA) of the Humanity Honorees.

Benjie Benas, Janzel Evangelista, Marie Waite, Baby Go, and  Igrafix of the Industry Honorees.

Angelina Flemming, Nathalie Andrei Barry, Allesja Morales, Jeanelle Serquina, Michael Keith of the Youth Honorees.

Jun Guzman, Carl Andrada, Tony Garcia, Malou Toler, William Regular, Alyn Duncan, Eliza Cortez,  FACO-CDG, Aljess Bernardo and  The 3rd Degree Band from our Arts Honorees.

Catherine Enriquez, Venus Marin, Dra. Susan Lim, Camille Agbayani, Dr. Florante Noble, Rene Pascual Laceste and Dr. Ben Camacho of the Sciences Honorees.

Secondly, to the presenters headed by Mayor Peter Weiss of Oceanside, Marc Manlapaz, Jade Hanson, Miss Filam 2017 Mariah Grace Fulinara, and Mutya Ng Pilipinas SoCal 2018 Allison Lorenzo.

Thirdly, to the hosts and performers led by our very own Mrs Filam 2018 Tiffany Hernandez, Suzanne Perez and Raffy Constantino. With the amazing high caliber performances from Allesja Morales, Joseph Buenaflor, Mayor Peter Weiss, Malou Toler, Jeanelle Serquina, Michael Keith, Jimmy Regino and The 3rd Degree Band.

Of course the ever amazing technical setup by DJ Aljess Bernardo (A8 Creatives), Bobby Crisostomo on photography and Melissa Whipple on videography, media press and other technical volunteers.

Special thanks to ABS-CBN Foundation representatives Jerry Bennet, Maricel Vest and Steve Angeles of Balitang Amerika TFC.  Special thanks to Benjie Benas for sponsoring a door prize of a Caribbean cruise for 2 and Debra Ayala of Westin Carlsbad Hotel and Spa for the wonderful service as always.

Last but not least, to the 2018 Hiyas Team.  They are the ones who worked so hard from day 1 of planning to the last second of the event, namely; Belle Limoge–co chair and founder of the Hiyas Awards, Zucette Lumabas-the grand slam queen of the night, Dorothy Mahimer, Sheila Butler, Rose Wallace, JM Ureta, Bob Hamilton, Virgie Flemming, Enri Fulmore and Ed Bagon. And of course to my husband Tom Hanson for supporting and letting me work and steal the family time to spend in FACO.

This year’s proceeds were awarded to the Adopt-A-School projects in the Philippines in collaboration with ABS-CBN Foundation International represented by Jerry Bennet.  One in Calawitan National High School of Idelfonso Bulacan and Looc Elementary School of Balete, Batangas.  School recipients received $10,000 each for library projects, which will include the building, books, tables, chairs and computers.

Again, from the bottom of my heart, Thank you very much and May God Bless Us all Always.

Rein Hanson – FACO President/Chair