Home / Sports / Surf for the Sea 2019 Results

Surf for the Sea 2019 Results

Oceanside CA— The 23rd Annual Surf for the Sea surf contest was held at the Oceanside Harbor North Jetty on Saturday and Sunday, September 7 & 8, 2019. This surfing event is in loving memory of the late Harry Bennett, Steve Leighton, Tore Bonura, Chuck “Clubber” Hundley, Banning Capps, Court Overin, John Craven, Midget Smith, Casey Williams, Chris Pompa, Michael Pultz, Susie Prestie, John Douglas, Brandon Dreyer, Logan Lipton and Brooks Mackin.  They are all our local family of surfers who have passed away.

This is an annual memorial event supporting the Environment with proceeds going to The Surfrider Foundation, San Diego Chapter, to help raise awareness and help protect our ocean, waves and beaches. 140 competitors received an event T-Shirt designed by Josh Potter, lunch catered by Johnny Manana’s Restaurant and a chance at many raffle prizes including surfboards, skateboards, wetsuits, backpacks, t-shirts and hats.

Local merchants and sponsors who help make this event a success year after year are: Asylum Surf Shop, Brixton, Byrne Surfboards, Chemistry Surfboards, Dragon Optical, Eco Water, Firewire, Go Pro, Grom, Harney Sushi Oceanside, Life’s Rad, Johnny Mananas, PCH Mortgage & Real Estate, Josh Potter Art, Pyzel Suyrfboards,  Smith Optics, Skate One/Peralta Skateboards, Standard Graphics, Sticky Bumps Wax, Surface Sun Systems, Surfride Board Shop, The Engravers Gallery, The Surfrider Foundation San Diego Chapter, WSA (Western Surfing Association), Crummer Photography, and Scholastic Surf Series.

The raffle was made possible by all the generous donations of local merchants and the surfing industry. A very big thank you to everyone for helping to make this another successful year for Surf for the Sea.

Surfboard Winners:

  • Zoe Zentic, Oceanside                         Byrne Surfboard
  • Zane Haber, Carlsbad                           Chemistry Surfboard
  • Newtson Family, Vista                         Pyzel Surfboards

Pro/Am Open

  1. Theo Fresia          $300     San Diego
  2. Nic Holdman $200    San Diego
  3. Vinnie Fornari $150    Oceanside
  4. T J Metcalf $100    Oceanside

Men (18-24)

  1. Josh Maynard Oceanside
  2. Brandon Pugsley Oceanside
  3. Hunter Parks Oceanside

Masters (25-34)

  1. Jameson Newtson Vista
  2. Carson Smith Vista

Senior Men (35-49)

  1. Vinnie Fornari Oceanside
  2. Vincent Duprat Encinitas
  3. Jared Newtson, Vista
  4. Jordy Newtson Vista

Legends (50 +)

  1. Craig Macia San Diego
  2. Michael Baron Oceanside
  3. Tom Steenbock Oceanside
  4. Jack Baseley Oceanside

Junior Bodyboard

  1. Kai Stern Cardiff
  2. Steven Leste Oceanside
  3. Miko Baron             Oceanside
  4. Andrew Leste Oceanside
  5. Micah Land Vista
  6. Gavin Noguchi Encinitas

Micro Groms (6 & Under)

  1. Rex Hoffman San Clemente
  2. Lucas Harrell San Clemente
  3. Theo Antunes Brazil
  4. Uriya McDonald Oceanside
  5. Donovan Gardiner San Clemente
  6. Charli Sherman Cardiff

Micro Grom Boys (8 & under)

  1. Brody Dinsmore Cardiff
  2. A J Iredell Carlsbad
  3. Owen Rowe Encinitas
  4. Oli Eaton San Diego
  5. Luke Chilingirian Encinitas
  6. Drake Montgomery Oceanside

Grommet Boys (12 & Under)

  1. Owen Casey Solana Beach
  2. Luke MacBeth Carlsbad
  3. Sutton Tudor Encinitas
  4. O’Shea Walder Dana Point
  5. Dane Libby Encinitas
  6. Svern Carter Oceanside

Boys (13-14)

  1. Lewis Aberle San Diego
  2. Cameron Sheahan Carlsbad
  3. Nathaniel McBeth Carlsbad
  4. Wyatt Tudor Encinitas
  5. Dylan Parkinson Vista
  6. Brandon Bacani La Jolla

Junior Men (15-17)

  1. Lewis Aberle San Diego
  2. Chance Hendricks Oceanside
  3. Micah Carlston Carlsbad
  4. Zach Muetzel Laguna Niguel

Micro Grom Girls (8 & Under

  1. Blossom Depesa Oceanside
  2. Tyler Stanton Encinitas
  3. Rooney Beatty San Clemente
  4. Reese Sherman Cardiff
  5. Kate Hill Santa Ana

Gromette Girls  (12 & under)

  1. Victoria Duprat Encinitas
  2. Shea Sherman Cardiff
  3. London Heunemann Dana Point
  4. Maddie Stanton Encinitas
  5. Riley Belden Laguna Beach
  6. Kylie Partridge Encinitas

Girls (15 & Under)

  1. Bree Smith Laguna Niguel
  2. Addison McPhillips San Clemente
  3. Skylie Knowles Oceanside
  4. Taylor Cunningham Oceanside

Open Women Shortboard

  1. Crystal da Silva Carlsbad

Open Womens Longboard

  1. Carolyn Sachse San Clemente
  2. Casey Currie Encinitas
  3. Star D’Elia San Marcos
  4. Mikya Farner Oceanside

Junior Longboard (25 & under)

  1. Logan Myers Carlsbad
  2. Josh Rasoul Escondido
  3. Baron Banuelos Dana Point
  4. Cole Carrillo Oceanside

Senior Longboard (26 & over)

  1. Shea Roney San Diego
  2. Scott Quarrie Oceanside
  3. Adam Leste Oceanside