Home / Community / AFP San Diego Announces 2019 Honorees for National Philanthropy Day

AFP San Diego Announces 2019 Honorees for National Philanthropy Day

San Diego CA— The Association of Fundraising Professionals San Diego Chapter announces the honorees to be recognized at the annual National Philanthropy Day® luncheon on Monday, November 4, 2019, from 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., at the Town and Country Hotel, Golden Pacific Ballroom (http://afpsd.org). The celebration honors the dedication, leadership, and community contributions of San Diego County’s philanthropists, volunteers, professionals, and organizations. These outstanding individuals and groups are part of the reason why San Diego was named the #1 most philanthropic city in the nation (Charity Navigator Survey, June 2017).

From a total of 71 nominees, the following were selected as 2019 National Philanthropy Day® honorees:

 Outstanding Philanthropist

Bob & Marion Wilson Nominated by San Diego Zoo Global, Operation HOPE, USS Midway, Monarch School, CA Innocence Project, Freedom Dogs, The San Diego Foundation, CSUSM, Palomar Health Foundation, Palomar College Foundation, San Diego Symphony and Interfaith Community Services

 Outstanding Development Professional

Todd Kaprielian Nominated by St. Paul’s Senior Services

 Outstanding Philanthropic Business/Corporation

Frank Motors Group Nominated by Big Brothers Big Sisters, Make-a-Wish San Diego, Chula Vista Animal Care Facility, Rady Children’s Hospital and the San Diego Center for Children

 Outstanding Grantmaking Organization

Foundation for Developmental Disabilities – Self-Nominated

Outstanding Organizational Volunteer

Michael & Lisa Peckham – Nominated by Rady Children’s Hospital

 Outstanding Fundraising Volunteer

Jack Raymond Nominated by Cal State University San Marcos

 Outstanding Youth/Student Volunteer

Noun Abdelaziz Nominated by the UCSD Center for Community Health Youth Advisory Council

“It was a great honor once again to serve as this year’s Honorary Committee Chair for National Philanthropy Day,” said Wendy Urushima-Conn, President & CEO of the Epilepsy Foundation of San Diego County. “Our incredible committee of diverse community leaders had the challenging, yet inspiring job of reading through the amazing nominations and selecting the recipients in each category. We were so impressed by the transformational gifts, impact and most of all, the heart of all the nominees. Congratulations to all the nominees and recipients. Our community is a better place because of you.”

This year’s event will feature keynote speaker Dennis V. Arriola, Executive Vice President and Group President of Sempra Energy.

“It’s an honor to participate in this important event honoring organizations and people who work every day to better the lives of people in the San Diego region,” said Dennis V. Arriola, executive Vice President and group president for Sempra Energy. “At Sempra Energy, our vision is delivering energy with purpose, and one way we do that is by investing in the communities we are privileged to serve.”

Sempra Energy is the Presenting Sponsor for this year’s National Philanthropy Day® event, with significant sponsorships from The San Diego Foundation, the San Diego Business Journal, Wells Fargo, San Diego Zoo Global, Sanford Institute of Philanthropy, Mission Federal Credit Union, and others.

Proceeds from the event will support the next generation of development professionals with scholarships and in-depth Learning Labs and educational workshops, which provide development professionals and nonprofit leaders with strategies and tools demonstrated to improve outcomes for those they serve, and for the larger San Diego region.

For additional information on sponsorship, attending the event, or the San Diego Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, please contact 760-518-0776 or email office@afpsd.org.

%d bloggers like this: