Carlsbad CA— To promote teen driving safety during National Teen Driver Safety Week, and to encourage parents to discuss the importance of safe driving habits with their newly licensed teen drivers, the City of Carlsbad Police Department’s traffic unit will be conducting a special weekend enforcement detail.
According to the California Office of Traffic Safety, the greatest risk for teen drivers is distracted driving, speeding, and impairment. The Police Department is partnering with OTS to offer tips to parents and caregivers on how to talk to teens about the consequences of making dangerous and illegal choices behind the wheel. This information includes
- Avoid Distractions: Cell phone use while driving is illegal. Drivers under 18 are not allowed to use a phone or other electronic device for any reason, including hands-free.
- Understand Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Laws: For the first 12 months you have a license or until the age of 18, no passengers under 20 years old are allowed unless a licensed parent, guardian or other adult 25 years old or older is in the car with you. Late-night driving (between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.) is also not permitted.
- Never Drive Under the Influence: All teens are too young to legally buy, possess or consume alcohol. Under California’s zero tolerance law, any driver under 21 cannot drink any alcohol and drive (blood alcohol concentration of .01% or higher).
- Follow the Speed Limit: Speeding is a risky behavior that increases the chances of serious injury or death in a crash.
“We understand the important role parents play in teaching their teen drivers roadway rules and responsibilities,” said Traffic Lieutenant Christie Calderwood. “It all starts with practicing good habits that will last a lifetime like driving distraction free, wearing a seat belt and following the speed limit.”
Funding for this program is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.